New Ultimate Painting (I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues

699893c5-23d4-412f-8f85-92f1d50fa6cb

Are you in the mood for the airy pop of Ultimate Painting? If not, hey man, that’s cool. Hopefully, you’re in the mood for something other than the crap that’s being tossed down your throat via terrestrial and satellite radio. How many times can you really listen to Vampire Weekend or Arcade Fire? I mean come on. Those fine purveyors of indie rawk get tiresome after a minute, don’t they? Soooo…try something new, or relatively new and that’s in the form of “(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues” which isn’t really much of a blues number but it could be if it weren’t so arpeggiated.

Ultimate Painting, the duo of Jack Cooper (Mazes) and James Hoare (Veronica Falls), are excited to share a new single, “(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues,” from their new album, Green Lanes, out August 7th on Trouble In Mind.

Jack says, “The Conservative government that we’ve had in the UK for the last 5 years have been particularly hard and cruel on the less fortunate members of society. Someone who’s found themselves unemployed has to jump through a variety of hoops to receive a jobseeker’s allowance; a paltry amount of money to help support themselves… If you’re late for your meeting or you fuck up some paperwork, they slap you with a sanction and the tiny amount of money you’re getting by on gets taken away. It’s straight out of Catch 22. ‘(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues’ is us trying to make sense of that. Songs that borrow the imagery and rhythms of the railway are as old as the railways themselves… We didn’t really set out to fit in with that tradition but I suppose that’s where it’s at.”

Ultimate Painting will tour in support of Green Lanes this fall and you can check out the dates below with more to be announced soon.

ULTIMATE PAINTING TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):
Sat. July 25 – Sheffield, UK @ Tramlines Festival
Wed. Aug. 5 – Southsea, UK @ Pie & Vinyl (In-store)
Fri. Aug. 7 – Oxford, UK @ Truck Records (In-store)
Fri. Aug. 14 – London, UK @ Power Lunches
Sat. Aug. 15 – London, UK @ Power Lunches
Sun. Aug. 23 – Brecon, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Sept. 5 – Lancaster, UK @ The Library
Sat. Sept. 6 – Wiltshire, UK @ End Of The Road Festival
Tue. Sept. 15 – Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall
Fri. Sept. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. Sept. 19 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East (Upstairs)
Sun. Sept. 20 – Bearsville, NY @ Bearsville Theatre (w/ Mikal Cronin)
Sat. Sept. 26 – Memphis, TN @ Gonerfest
Sun. Sept. 27 – Dallas, TX @ Double Wide
Sat. Oct. 3 – San Francisco, CA @ Hemlock Tavern
Sat. Oct. 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Diabolical Records
Sat. Oct. 24 – Oviedo, ES @ Lata de Zinc
Tue. Oct. 27 – Madrid, ES @ Sala Sol
Fri. Oct. 30 – St. Gallen, CH @ Kilbi dankt Allen
Wed. Nov. 4 – Sheffield, UK @ Bungalow & Bears
Thu. Nov. 5 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Fri. Nov. 6 – Glasgow, UK @ Old Hairdressers
Sat. Nov. 7 – Leeds, UK @ Beacons Metro Festival
Sun. Nov. 8 – Cardiff, UK @ SWN Festival
Thu. Nov. 12 – Bristol, UK @ Start The Bus
Sat. Nov. 14 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tue. Nov. 17 – Leipzig, DE @ Ilses Erika
Wed. Nov. 18 – Berlin, DE @ Acud
Thu. Nov. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Wildmax
Sun. Nov. 22 – Eindhoven, NL @ Alstadt
Mon. Nov. 23 – Rotterdam, NL @ V11

The thread view count is